Miranda Lime Works
The shell was trucked to the Lime works, crushed and burnt to produce powdered lime.
First proposed in the early 1900’s work commenced on this railway route in January 1938.
The Hon Bob Semple was on hand to turn the first sod in Paeroa while work also commenced at the Pokeno end of the line.
When completed this new line would avoid the lengthy dog leg via Frankton and reduce the trip time from Auckland to Paeroa by nearly two hours.
A similar time saving would also accrue to the trip to Tauranga and eventually to the end of the line at Taneatua.
At that time there were also plans to extend the line from Taneatua to Gisborne with some work already underway near Gisborne.
There were a number of gangs at work on the earthworks for the line, working in two shifts and at times being paid a bonus based on the length of earthworks completed.
Unfortunately WW2 resulted in work being brought to a halt and much of the earth moving machinery being seconded for the war effort with some being shipped to Singapore.
Despite good intentions work did not start again after the war as the nation was by then putting a greater emphasis on improving the road network.
Today evidence of the earthworks can be seen at many places near SH2 with the last completed section within a few meters of Dimmocks Road.
Had this railway link been completed, then the economics of drilling the Kaimai tunnel, completed in 1978, may have been questionable.
Explore our heritage sites and landmarks, each with its own story to tell. These iconic places offer a connection to our past and a glimpse into our enduring history.
The shell was trucked to the Lime works, crushed and burnt to produce powdered lime.
On the 16th November 1863 a force of about nine hundred men, under Lieut.-Colonel Carey, embarked at Auckland for the…
Croatian immigrant Ivan Yukich planted his first grape vines in West Auckland in 1934. His sons Mate and Frank established…
This redoubt was established in December 1863 and was one of three built between Queen’s Redoubt at Pokino (Pokeno) and…
Seventy five years ago the school was the only public building in the district and for years it served as…
Application to the Education Board for a school was made in 1918 by Mr. George Stubbs of the Mangatangi Land…
A creamery was established on the Keith property in Mangatawhiri in 1895. It was later moved to Lyons Rd, beside…
This redoubt was established in December 1863 and was one of three between Queen’s Redoubt at Pokino (Pokeno) and the…
First proposed in the early 1900’s work commenced on this railway route in January 1938. The Hon Bob Semple was…
The first bridge across the Mangatangi River was built in 1922. Prior to that date all traffic had to ford…
This redoubt was established in December 1863 and was one of three between Pokino and Miranda on the Firth of…